News Archive

Corbin Klett was selected from the student body to provide the reflection at the Institute's 242nd Commencement ceremony on Friday, May 4, 2012.
A team of Aerospace Engineering students from ASDL (the Aerospace Systems Design Lab) at Georgia Tech took first place in their division at the 2012 SAE Aero Design East competition.
Maria Chierichetti will join the faculty of the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at Worcester Polytechnic Institute in August 2012.
Georgia Tech has been the only continuously funded RCOE for the past 30 years, and began the seventh multiyear funding phase (five years) in Fall 2011 with resources from the Army, NASA and Navy.
Three of the students NASA has selected for the 2012 class of Space Technology Research Fellows are in the AE School.
AE student David Miculescu has been selected for the 2012 Sigma Gamma Tau (SGT) Southeastern Regional Award
Mike Grant will be joining the faculty in the School of Aeronautics and Astronautics at Purdue University as a tenure-track Assistant Professor.
Jacqueline O’Connor, who graduated with her Ph.D. in Aerospace Engineering in May 2012, has accepted an appointment to the faculty at the Pennsylvania State University to begin in August of 2013.
Dr. Santosh Hemchandra graduated with a Ph.D. in Aerospace Engineering from Georgia Tech in April 2009 he has been an Assistant Professor at the Department of Aerospace Engineering at the Indian Institute of Science in Bangalore, India.
Girish Chowdhary received his Ph.D. from the Daniel Guggenheim School of Aerospace Engineering in May 2011.
SpaceX launch a reminder thatspace geeks look to 'New Space' companies to boldly go where only governments used to go.
Mr. Tony Charaf, President of Delta Tech Ops at Delta Air Lines, has accepted an appointment to the School of AE Advisory Council (AESAC).
Marcus Holzinger is an Assistant Professor who has joined the Space Systems Design Laboratory.
AE alumnus, Col. Bobby Grant Crawford (MS AE '94), won the 2012 American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) National Outstanding Teaching Award.
The Georgia Tech swimming & diving program had one GT-AE student-athlete named to the 2012 Atlantic Coast Conference Academic All-Conference Team, among others.
Prof. Marilyn J. Smith has been named as the Technical Chair of the 70th Annual Forum and Technology Display of the American Helicopter Society (AHS).
Prof. Dimitri Mavris was elected to the Executive Committee of ICAS (International Council for Aeronautical Sciences).
Robert D. Braun gave the commencement address at Penn State’s College of Engineering.
Bobby Braun was published in the Hill newspaper
Eight AE students received awards at the AE Sigma Gamma Tau Senior Banquet and the Georgia Tech Students Honors luncheon.