Prof. Timothy Lieuwen Named Fellow of American Physical Society

Prof. Timothy Lieuwen Named Fellow of American Physical Society
Regents Professor and APS Fellow Dr. Timothy C. LIeuwen
Regents Professor & NAE Member
Timothy C. Lieuwen
2020 APS Fellow

The American Physical Society this week announced that it has elected Daniel Guggenheim School of Aerospace Engineering Regent's Professor Timothy C. Lieuwen to its 2020 class of Society Fellows.

The APS Fellowship Program recognizes members who have made exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise in physics research, important applications of physics, leadership in or service to physics, or significant contributions to physics education.

"I’m excited that our work on basic science around fluid mechanics of reacting flows has been recognized by APS," said Lieuwen.  

"Of course, these are recognitions of the whole group, and I’m deeply appreciative of the work of Research Engineers Dr. Ben Emerson,  Dr. Vishal Acharya, David Wu, Subodh Adhikari, and my graduate students for being such a great group to work with."

A world-renowned expert in the areas of combustion and energy, Lieuwen
has authored or edited four combustion books, seven book chapters, 120 journal articles, and more than 200 other publications. He has been awarded four patents (all licensed to industry), is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, and also a Fellow of ASME, AIAA, and The Combustion Institute.  He is a member of numerous professional societies and serves as an editor for several technical publications.  He is also the director of Georgia Tech’s Strategic Energy Institute, acting as a systems integrator for the 200 faculty and 800 energy researchers on campus.

In its nomination of Lieuwen, the Society's Division of Fluid Dynamics lauded him for "outstanding contributions to the understanding of reacting shear flows, particularly the interactions of hydrodynamic stability, thermoacoustic stability, and flames."

Each year, no more than one half of one percent of the Society membership is recognized by their peers for election to the status of Fellow in the American Physical Society. This year, 163 Fellows were selected and recognized for their contributions to science. Lieuwen was the only Georgia Tech faculty named a 2020 Fellow.


Name: lieuwen-timpreferred2.jpg
621.06 KB