The Aerospace Engineering School Advisory Council (AESAC)

From the AESAC Chair

We are living in incredibly dynamic, challenging and interesting times. Aerospace engineers are at the forefront of creating growth-infused technology that will improve standards of living, better humankind and introduce new environments for humankind to live, learn and play.

The discipline of aerospace engineering goes far beyond applications just for space and aviation.  The progress in our field extends into technological advancements throughout all facets of our everyday lives.  The history of the US space program and the resulting technological leaps that have provided a positive impact on all of our day to day lives is astounding and includes cell phone cameras, home insulation, baby formula, air purifiers, water filtration, shock absorbers for building, etc. The list is long and varied and is an example of the far reaching impact aerospace engineering has on improving our world. 

The emergence of all these technologies is also making the dream of mega cities ever closer to reality. Soon, high-speed aircraft will carry us between cities and countries with increased ease and flexibility.  Air mobility taxis and drones will quickly and safely deliver people and parcels within those cities and surrounding communities.  In the meantime, space discoveries are bringing us one step closer to people visiting and living on the Moon, Mars, and beyond.  

With the support of the Daniel Guggenheim School of Aerospace Engineering leadership, faculty, and staff-our students are well poised to expand on these opportunities and more, positively impacting the human condition. I’m a proud graduate of this School and incredibly grateful for the opportunity to serve as chair of its board of advisors. The future is limitless, and I’m excited to see what Georgia Tech’s AE community creates.

I invite you to join us in this era of unprecedented growth and ingenuity,

Gary M. Weissel,
BSAE ‘93 & AESAC Chair
Managing Officer, Tronos Aviation Consulting, Inc.


Angel Barboza
Vice President of Innovation and Future Programs
Gulfstream Aerospace Corporation
Ben Bellows
AE '06
Senior Director, Mechanical Systems, Externals, and Nacelles Engineering
Pratt & Whitney
Robert Braun
Head of Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory's (APL) Space Exploration Sector
Johns Hopkins
Marcus J. Dash
AE '66, '68
Goldman, Sachs & Co.
John W. Elbon III
AE '82
Chief Operating Officer
United Launch Alliance
Philip A. Fawcett
AE '89, '90, '92
General Manager, Electronic Programs Division
The Aerospace Corporation
Roei Ganzarski
Chief Executive Officer
Eric Gebhardt
AE '90
Executive Vice President and Chief Technology Officer
Wabtec Corporation
Amy Hudnall
Director, Center of Innovation for Aerospace
Georgia Department of Economic Development
Nick Lappos
AE '73
Formerly, Senior Technical Fellow, Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation
Andrew Lewis
AE '76
Decision IQ
Sandra "Sandy" Magnus
MSE '96
Professor of the Practice
Georgia Tech School of Aerospace Engineering
Lara Hodgson O'Connor
AE '93
President and CEO
NOW Corporation
Anne Patterson
AE ’71, ‘75
Women’s Telehealth
Dierk M. Reuter
AE '87
Founding Director
Lucid Markets Ltd. (retired)
Alton Romig Jr.
Executive Officer
The National Academy of Engineering
Larry Schneider
AE '85
Formerly, Vice President/Chief Program Engineer NMA Program, Boeing Company
Robert Stoker
AE '89, '90, '96
Senior Manager for Noise, Vibration and Emissions
The Boeing Company
Clayton P. Tino
AE ’07, ’12, ‘13
Chief Technology Officer
Gary M. Weissel (Chair)
AE '93
Managing Officer
Tronos Aviation Consulting, Inc.